Don Henley Must Die!

James Joyner has responded to my post below about Don Henley’s WaPo op-ed, and I wanted to clarify a couple of points. James says:

Much like the ability to get lots of information for free on the Internet has made people reluctant to pay for it [snip] we now have the idea that it

9 Responses to “Don Henley Must Die!”

  1. James Joyner Says:

    I agree on the consolidation issue. I’m not a fan of homogenization–especially since it seems to now all be Britney Spears-type teenybopper crap or hip hop–but it’s not a government function to stop it as long as they aren’t using monopoly powers to force up prices.

  2. Emily Says:

    Don Henley has no Elvis in him.

  3. Mark Hasty Says:

    Sorry, Will–gotta disagree with your belief that ClearChannel et al. are harmless. Radio bandwidth is not an unlimited resource, and there are already significant barriers preventing you and I from exercising our right to broadcast music. Continued consolidation of radio ownership is, I believe, pushing the music industry dangerously close to the point where it becomes an illegal trust.

    I plan on blogging on this topic later tonight.

  4. Mike M Says:

    Grateful Dead, Phish…I don’t think lack of radio airplay really hurt them either.

    I don’t buy the argument that ownership consolidation is bad for the industry. It has far worse problems than who’s making out the check to the DJ. Besides, there are what, 3 or 4 markets that are maxed out in radio spectrum? Everywhere else in the country you hit the seek button and watch the numbers fly by. It’s a limited resource but is hardly near saturation.

    What the FCC should do is deregulate low power broadcasters and allow city or campus-specific radio stations to operate. there would be an explosion of choice in the marketplace, and the only loser would be dead air.

  5. Sandy P. Says:

    Henley lost to Don Felder, didn’t he?

    Wasn’t the suit $50m?

    Maybe that’s why he need protection, his lifestyle’s about to get seriously crimped.

  6. Dave Says:

    I’ve always said that when they finally got around to the autopsy on ‘Who killed rock & roll’, they’d find Don Henley’s fingerprints on the knife. Defending an already failed business model (small record companies) that lost to a soon-to-fail business model (big record companies) is pretty much exactly what I would expect from him.

  7. blaster Says:

    Radio has always sucked. Clear Channel didn’t do that. They are just the new suckers.

  8. Damien Says:

    I’d just like to point out that the argument about touring and selling concert seats is biased towards current live-band style musicians. There are a lot of artists that don’t really do a live thing very often or very well – artists from Enya to Nine Inch Nails to Dead Can Dance. Also, music from the 70’s and 80’s doesn’t have much of a live music market.

    I’m not saying those artists don’t have revenue opportunities aside from direct CD sales, but I just want those who make the Grateful Dead/Phish/Dave Matthews argument that realize that they are excluding a large segment of the artist population by insisting on live performances and ticket sales.

  9. Bill Peschel Says:

    “Rightly or wrongly, $18 is no longer what the market will bear for a plastic disc filled with audio.”

    I don’t know about $18, but I see that they move the stuff for $11-12 on the cover of the Best Buy ads. Considering that I can buy MOVIES for $6-$12 — this past weekend, my wife and I spent $50 and got “Ghostbusters” “Monty Python/Meaning of Life” “True Stories” and silents by Chaplin and Keaton among others — why should I even consider spending more for music?

Comments are closed.


