Guard Duty

I wonder how much of this is “giving the benefit of the doubt,” vs. the general public just being a lot more familiar with the National Guard than your average political reporter.

From watching the press questions over the last couple of weeks, I’m fairly well convinced that the “journalists” covering the Bush Air Guard story don’t have the faintest idea how the Guard and Reserves actually work.

I’ll bet you there aren’t three reporters on the White House beat who have a friend or relative in the Guard.

UPDATE: Chris Muir at Day By Day has a typically-funny take on one of John Kerry’s National Guard cracks.

7 Responses to “Guard Duty”

  1. Trevor Says:

    Or if any of the reporters do have a relative in the guard, they probably stopped talking to them a while ago.

  2. Tom Says:

    I live two miles from Ellington Field. I remember after 9/11 when those guys down there worked around the clock providing air cover for all of South Texas. During the first months we were in Afghanistan they did a lot of training directly over the shopping center on Fairmont Parkway. Even inside the warehouse-sized Best Buy with muzac blaring and and a hundred TVs chattering, when one of those jets would streak overhead, the whole damn building would shake and everyone would look up, some even reflexively ducked. I remember thinking at the time that if I was squatting in some dirty hole with an old AK-47, just the sound of one approaching would be enough to make me mess my drawers.

    You couldn’t get me into a modern fighter jet if it was filled with naked Asian coeds and buffalo wings, much less an F-102. Anybody that claims those guys are ‘draft dodgers’ needs a solid punch in the face.

  3. Crank Says:

    Muir misspelled “Sergeant.”

  4. Chris Muir Says:

    I always seem to misspell sargennt.

  5. Chuck Pelto Says:

    TO: Stephen Green
    RE: Guard Cracks?

    “Chris Muir at Day By Day has a typically-funny take on one of John Kerry’s National Guard cracks.” — Stephen Green

    It’s actually more a long the lines of Kerry’s military experience, as a whole, less that interesting business of Viet Nam accusing him of having his own little Ma Lai [Note: Complete with witnesses, no less.]

    Regards,

    Chuck(le)
    P.S. In my opinion, Kerry is just another Clark, who didn’t ‘make the grade’ in the military, i.e, politician. But he got himself into some interesting s— and it blew his mind, so he went maverick and made a name for himself otherwise.

    P.P.S. I think the Vietnamese have a valid claim about the guy in that village. After all, he seems to know so much about attrocities and all….

  6. Chuck Pelto Says:

    TO: Chris Muir
    RE: Spelling Issues

    “I always seem to misspell sargennt.” — Chris Muir

    Not a problem. I have the same problem. And I used to be one too.

    Regards,

    Chuck(le)
    P.S. I have the same problem with ‘artillary’.

  7. Chuck Pelto Says:

    P.P.S. Donald forgive me….I did it ag’in.

Comments are closed.


