For Ungodly Concert Kitty

Just checked TicketBastard for the upcoming Van Halen show here in Atlanta. The only price listed (seats go on sale Friday) is $90.

$90.

I mean, I still love to hear Eddie play and all, but yougottabefreakinkiddinme.

[oldfart]

The first couple of real concerts I went to in the mid-80’s, tickets were about $12. Caught Van Halen on the Montsters Of Rock mega-tour in ’88, with Metallica, the Scorpions, and a couple of forgettable hair bands, and that was about $30–for an all-day show with five acts. Yes, I know that was 16 years ago, but…

$90?!? For one ticket? Without happy ending?

[/oldfart]

14 Responses to “For Ungodly Concert Kitty”

  1. michele Says:

    The first concert I went to (Kiss) – and most concerts in the few years after that – had tier pricing. $7.50, $8.50 or $9.50 depending on the seats.

    I am SO old.

  2. ERic Says:

    First Concert: Black Sabbath with Ronnie James Dio, $25 for 6th row Center. Oh to be young again.

  3. Steve Says:

    I still remember the Rush-Power Windows concert in 1985 at the Rosemont Horizon in Chicago.

    Tickets were $20 apiece which was a fortune at the time but what a show!

  4. Will Collier Says:

    Steve, I caught them on that tour in Pensacola, FL, Steve Morse Band opened the show. I was 15 feet from the stage, and the ticket price was $13.50.

  5. Steve Says:

    —I was 15 feet from the stage, and the ticket price was $13.50.—

    That tells you that I was hosed! Then again Rosemont never was cheap!

  6. rick Says:

    $90 for VH. ya gotta be kidding me. and they probably won’t play more than an hour or so. I saw Bruce here at Philips last year for $75. well worth it.

  7. Stephen Green Says:

    This is usually where my friend Kat chimes in, to remind me she once saw a double-headliner concert for three bucks.

    The acts? The Byrds and The Rolling Stones.

    And then I usually chime in with, “Bitch.”

  8. bender Says:

    they played in NYC 2 weeks ago, and the people who won tickets off the radio called into the radio station to complain about how the free show was a complete waste of time.

    the show is TERRIBLE.

  9. HoosierDave Says:

    90 bucks? I wouldn’t pay 9 bucks to hear Van Hagar play…VH hasn’t been the same since Diamond Dave got the boot. And yeah, he’s sorry now, but back in the day he was great

  10. Veeshir Says:

    Blame it on the Eagles. They were the first to charge close to $100 on their, “We’re Broke so we’re having a reunion tour”.

    Ahhh, Sabbath with Dio. Now that was a show.
    Rush in Radio City Music Hall for $25 was the best ever.

  11. Ed Driscoll Says:

    During my prime concert going phase in the 1980s, I typically paid about $16 a ticket at the Philadelphia Spectrum arena or open-air events at nearby JFK or Veterans’ Stadium.

    These days, I prefer to go to venues like this.

  12. Fred Jacobsen (San Fran) Says:

    Stephen:

    I’ll chime in in Kat’s place. Santana, Paul Butterfield, Peter Frampton, Doobie Brothers, Allman Brothers, etc. (pick any three – in those days concerts featured three bands) at Winterland 1970-72. Price? $3.00.

  13. Fred Says:

    The Eagles and very quickly followed by The Rolling Stones and Paul McCartney.

    The high end ticket show is becoming all too common. Unless you are playing a medium size venue (800-1500 people) no one should ever pay that much money for a show.

    And I’ll stick to that story until I am a super huge rock star looking to finance my 3 year binge. (since I am being honest and all that)

  14. El Miguel Says:

    Not that I go to shows much anymore…but one of the nice things about growing up as a punk rocker is that I’ve rarely paid more than ten dollars to see a band play. I’ve seen some absolutely amazing live bands for only ten dollars (Nomeansno, the Supersuckers, Motorhead, Foetus, the Murder City Devils, etc). Of course, I’ve also seen some bands who were the ass end of awful. The only people I’d be willing to pay more than 10-15 dollars to see are Nick Cave, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits or the Sisters of Mercy. Not many other bands are worth that much….

Comments are closed.


