Abandon In Place

I’d meant to post this yesterday, the 35th anniversary of the Apollo 11 landing, but forgot. It’s a column I wrote on the 30th anniversary in 1999, and sadly, there’s little need to update it five years later.

Yes, there is cause for hope, what with a private spaceflight movement aborning and the prospect for a long-needed evolution at NASA something more than laughable for a change, but in my darker moments, I fear all that’s really happened since I wrote that piece is, we’ve lost a space shuttle.

There’s been more, and much of it good, but it’s now half a lifetime since Armstrong and Aldrin. That’s far too long for a high-water mark to stand.

UPDATE: NASA has posted a gallery of newly-digitized photos from Apollo 11, and they are magnificent. Be prepared to spend some time and bandwidth before you click here.

5 Responses to “Abandon In Place”

  1. RPD Says:

    Good essay.

    As a side note, some googling finds that the Saturn V plans are preserved in microfilm at the Marshall Spaceflight Center. The major caveat with that is that it is 40 year old technology, and that 60’s era components are no longer available. Rocket engineers would have to start over with a clean sheet anyway.

  2. ang Says:

    its really a shame. I have always secretly hoped that one day I would be able to orbit the earth, but untill a new propolsion system is figured out, its seems the manned program is moot.

  3. ed Says:

    Steve, Steve, Steve…

    If you needed pictures, why not just ask me?

    http://www.rolandmiller.com/launringrestore.html

    ed

  4. Garrett Says:

    You guys know that two different people post on this site now, right?

  5. ed Says:

    Yea, Garret, I do know that, and I still don’t always read the who is posting part.
    Sorry

    Will, Will, Will……

    If ya need rocket science pics, let me know.

    Ed

Comments are closed.


