It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

There’ve been a few early games over the last week, but college football season really begins today, and there is much rejoicing in the land.

I’m outta here for the first Auburn game in a few minutes, so y’all have a nice day, and may your team do well. Unless your team is Alabama, in which case, may they be humiliated beyond all reckoning (not very likely, considering UAT is playing Utah State–but hey, Utah State isn’t any worse than Northern Illinois, or Central Florida, or Louisiana Tech).

War Eagle!

26 Responses to “It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year”

  1. RandMan Says:

    Ah, Will, you are bringing back memories of my short stint at Samford University in the late 70’s. Before moving to Birmingham, I was unaware of the fervor of Southrons for their college football.

    One radio station in Birmingham had a morning show hosted by T.C. and John Ed. (Anyone remember “Tear it up, Tear it up for blank” from their morning callers? LOL)

    Someone sent in a tape to T.C. and John Ed, and they played it over the air. It was hysterical.

    It was a recording of the play-by-play of a football game between T.C. and John Ed vs. Notre Dame, complete with recorded crowd noise. “T.C. fades back, he passes, caught by John Ed. He’s at the 30, the 20, the 10. TOUCHDOWN, John Ed!!! The extra point is good! That makes the score T.C. and John Ed -91-, Notre Dame -0-“.

  2. Will Collier Says:

    My mom commutted to bamaham for a while during that period. She was a big fan of the late Tommy Charles (aka T.C.). They had a fun show.

  3. rivlax Says:

    Will, I spent many an hour in the Haley Center and in Jordan-Hare when I was working on my master’s degree in poly sci at AU. However, being a Georgia journalism grad I could only root for the Tigers when they played others. Still, Auburn on football Saturday is a special place, and Toomer’s Corner after a win is an experience. Hope you guys get to TP the old oaks again today.

    p.s. Have a sandwich at Chuck’s Good Barbeque for me. Still the best in the South.

  4. rivlax Says:

    Will, I spent many an hour in the Haley Center and in Jordan-Hare when I was working on my master’s degree in poly sci at AU. However, being a Georgia journalism grad I could only root for the Tigers when they played others. Still, Auburn on football Saturday is a special place, and Toomer’s Corner after a win is an experience. Hope you guys get to TP the old oaks again today.

    p.s. Have a sandwich at Chuck’s Good Barbeque for me. Still the best in the South.

  5. rivlax Says:

    Sorry for the double post. I’m using my son’s laptop and, boy, is the pad sensitive.

  6. andy Says:

    Roll Tide!

    That is all.

  7. caltechgirl Says:

    I wish you better luck in this year’s opener than last year’s.

    Fight On Trojans!

  8. Hunter Says:

    unless, that is, your football game this weekend got postponed to OCTOBER because of the hurricane.

    go gators!

  9. Duke of DeLand Says:

    We’re hoping nothing more than football gets “postponed” here in Tampa…..This storm is really scary….almost as much as sKerry is!

    Now it is parked offshore and we in FL are getting pounded by wind and rain for who knows how many hours!

    Ah, the Sunshine State…..I believe I’ll retire to the NC Mountains!

  10. Michele Says:

    And then, of course, there is my alma mater, Ohio State!! GO BUCKS!

  11. Julie Says:

    I knew you were a great guy! WAR EAGLE!!

  12. Mike Caldwell Says:

    Well…
    If it’s between UA and AU then War Damn Eagles!! But, even here in Tampa my hearts still bleeds Big Orange!!

    I mean, everyone knows why Florida doesn’t float off into the Gulf…it’s because Alabama sucks.

    As a coincidence, I’ve been singing that same Christmas song all day.

    That and Rocky Top.

  13. Gilly Says:

    War Eagle ya’ll.

    Unfortunatly they don’t do pay-per-view for AU games up here in Cow Hampshire. But I tell you what:

    I’d take a Guthrie’s Box (no slaw extra bread and extra sauce), a pound of puled pork from Byron’s or a table at Harry’s any day over living so close the the People’s Democratic Republic of Massachusetts.

  14. Will Collier Says:

    Gilly, I don’t know how to tell you this, but… Harry’s is no more. Closed in July, scheduled for demolition.

    I know, I’m dying, too. At least Guthrie’s is still in business.

    BTW, Auburn 31, LMAO 0.

  15. ranter Says:

    I knew you were a genius, I just didn’t know why. I hope you got to see LSU flounder around.

    Bodda getta, bodda getta,
    bodda getta
    Rah rah rah
    Sis boom bah
    Weagle, weagle war damn eagle
    Kick ’em in the butt big blue
    Hey!

  16. Will Collier Says:

    This will be mostly lost on everybody but the Auburn folks, but the funniest thing I heard at the game was the suggestion that Governor Ahnoldt should be the new Mic Man:

    “Allright, let’s git ahp for a Body-Gedda! Yas, you! Dat little girlie-man in section 15, I’m talking to you! Git ahf dat behind right now before I feed you to da eagle in little flabby bits!”

  17. Capt Smythe Says:

    Will, you snarky SOB, I KNEW THERE WAS A REASON I LIKED YOU!!!

    Other than the obvious, I mean.

    Next round at War Eagle Supper Club is on me…

    “War Eagle, fly down the field,
    Ever to conquer, never to yield…”

    Anyone know if Denaro’s is still aorund? I know that Harry’s and the Sani-Freeze are gone, damn shame…

    Semper Fi,
    Capt Smythe

  18. Will Collier Says:

    Denaro’s is long gone. There’ve been two or three new places in that storefront since Denaro’s quit. The good news is, you can actually bar-hop in downtown Auburn now (back in my day, “bar-hopping” consisted of convincing the Supper Club bus to take us to Harry’s on the other side of town).

    Lots of new places up and down College Street today–these kids don’t know how good they have it…

  19. Dave in Texas Says:

    War Damn Eagle.

    Did not attend there, but I was born there. Dad graduated in 1960.

    Lee County Hospital, Sept. 1959.

  20. Dave in Texas Says:

    War Damn Eagle.

    Did not attend there, but I was born there. Dad graduated in 1960.

    Lee County Hospital, Sept. 1959.

  21. Pinch Says:

    Beat ya, Dave in Texas! Lee County Hospital, 14 Aug, 58! Same as you, never attended Auburn, but dang near everyone else in my mom and dad’s family did (I was a navy brat, so ended up elsewhere come college years). Grandfather was a classmate and good freind of someone who ended up being a half-way decent football coach – went by the name of Shug.

    War DAMN Eagle

    Bear Who? Roll What?

  22. Alli Says:

    Boiler Up. Thats all I have to add.

  23. Pamela Says:

    Will,

    I like you, but………..

    ROLL TIDE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. Nathan Says:

    Typical AU fan — would rather see Bama lose than AU win.

    Now go back to your room, lil’ brother.

    Roll Tide

  25. scott orrell Says:

    Congrats to Auburn for their first victory, my there be many more.
    …Cause the only thing sweeter than beating Auburn is beating an undefeated Auburn. heh
    ROLL TIDE!!

  26. Sekimori Says:

    Will, you’re baiting me, aren’t you.

Comments are closed.


