Bush Victory Speech

Cheney is introducing Bush. Standard deadpan, business-as-usual tone from the Veep; jokes about delivering Wyoming for the ticket and flying to Hawaii. Notes the record turnout and “a broad, nationwide victory.” Mentions gaining seats in the House and Senate, and the record vote tally for Bush.

“We did more than campaign on a record. President Bush laid out a clear vision for the future, and the nation responded by giving him a mandate.” Strong stuff; a clear shot across the bow for the next congressional session.

(I can hear the complaints now–“How is this different from Edwards being political, huh?” It’s different because Bush and Cheney won, and now have the responsibility to govern. Edwards, thankfully, has no such responsibility–or ability, for that matter.)

Bush steps up. “The voters turned out in record numbers and delivered a historic victory.” Compliments Kerry for “a spirited campaign, he and his supporters can be proud of their efforts.” Offers best wishes to Kerry and his family. No mention of Edwards.

“With [this] trust comes the duty to serve all Americans.”

Bush thanks his family, starting with Laura. Big reaction. Ditto for praising they Cheneys. Thanks his campaign team and supporters. Standard stuff, but done well. “The architect–Karl Rove.” Another big reaction. Special emphasis on “get out the vote.” Bush clearly knows what got him here.

“Our military has brought justice to the enemy, and honor to America. Our nation has defended itself, and served the freedom of all mankind.” Makes Edwards’ cheap words about the mother of a dead soldier look all the more tawdry.

“With good allies at our side, we will fight this war on terror with every resource at our disposal… I’d like to speak to everyone who voted for my opponent. To make this nation stronger, I’ll need your support, and I’ll work hard to earn your trust.” Very nice.

Closes with “a word to the people of the state of Texas.” Good stuff if you like Texas (I do). “Whatever lies ahead, that road will take me home.”

“I see a great day coming for our country, and I am eager for the work ahead. God bless you, and God bless America.”

Straightforward stuff, the kind of short and more personal address that Bush excels at. Not a particularly memorable speech (there was only one Reagan in 1980), but done with class and clear gratitude.

(Joe Klein comes on NPR immediately after Bush, and promptly begins making a bitter, disappointed ass of himself. I change the station.)

19 Responses to “Bush Victory Speech”

  1. Nick Says:

    “Special emphasis on ‘get out the vote.’ Bush clearly knows what got him here.”

    And isn’t that the irony… that was supposed to get him out according to the Kerry campaign.

  2. Becky in Ohio Says:

    HEH!!! Danny-boy choked on the “newly re-elected” part.

    Hard to stomach the truth, hmmmm???

  3. Monty Says:

    NPR could do much better for guest bobbing heads. Well, at least I don’t have to look at him…come to think of it, I agree, don’t have to listen to him either…channel changed – thanks

  4. Xixi Says:

    Chris Matthews came right on as well in a snarky bitch mode. Inappropriate timing at the least. Does Chris imitate Wonkette or does Wonkette imitate Chris or do they both imitate Sullivan? Whatever the case, they’ve all got the “bitch” act perfected.

  5. Joey Says:

    RE: The Texas Comment

    I’m a lifelong Texan and kinda like the place, but this comment was odd. Bush never mentions Texas. Ever. It stands out.

    Putting on the tin foil hat:

    The tape could be interpreted to read OBL would go after any state that supported Bush. Bush just told him where to start and said “Bring It On!”

  6. John W. Says:

    Brokaw had Nancy Pelosi and Lindsey Graham on right after. Pelosi couldn’t even complete her first sentence without a shot at President Bush about “keeping promises this time.”

  7. Joey Says:

    Pelosi was just mad because she forgot her password and couldn’t comment on DU.

  8. Wil Says:

    NPR?

    wazupwitdat?

  9. bkw Says:

    The Texas comment stuck out like a sore thumb to my wife and I as well.

    I wonder what he knows that we don’t?

    I theorize it’s related somehow to the massive pickup of seats, but the OBL/bigass leaky southern border makes the eyebrows arch.

  10. Pamela Says:

    I saw the entire interview with Nancy Pelosi. Yikes…she is furious. She could barely keep from hissing as she berated the President. I don’t see any coming together for the good of the country from her.

  11. Robert H Says:

    The Texas comment –
    My 1st thought is that it was a jab at the Clintons for leaving their home state and taking up residence(s) in New York/DC-Georgetown.

    But on 2nd thought, I think he was telling everyone who was listening that this was going to be his last 4 yrs in DC and he was going to “leave it all on the table” (so to speak) before he went back home.

    At least it sort of jibes w/ Cheney’s “mandate” talk.

  12. bolivar Says:

    Well Nancy – FUCK YOU and the horse you rode in on (or the broom)!!!!

    Remember W really did not run the best of campaigns and stepped on his own feet more than once. The real saving grace was the Swift Boat Vets and they deserve the lions share of the credit for this big win.

    I supported the Swiftees and am damn glad I did as it was money WELL SPENT – not like the millions that Soros and Lewis and all the LLL Hollywood and rock libs. I love it that springstone and the dixie shits and all those other has beens and never was’s and no talents hacks and unfortunately some acts I really liked (until now) wasted their efforts and to top it off Mikey Moore that fat worthless bastard has to eat crow, and chicken and goose and maybe some horse shit too. Takes a lot to fill that bottomless cesspool.

    I will be watching very carefully from now on what movies, tv shows and music I purchase. The pieces of shit that pandered to Kerry will get none of my money or at best a limited amount. The problem is that virtually the entire industry was in on the gig and oh well I don’t need movies anyway. I have the net and all you fine folks don’t I?

    Thank God for George W. Bush and may God bless and keep the United States of America!

  13. UML Guy Says:

    My take on the Texas comment…

    We all know that Texas was a cakewalk for the President. So what were the Texas GOP folks to do, sit on their butts the whole campaign?

    Nope. Instead, they went on the road to battleground states. We were promised six Texas volunteers in my little rural Michigan county, and we got eight. I hear that there were Texas volunteers in other battleground states as well.

    And many of those who couldn’t take the time to go on the road did phone bank work for the campaigns, calling voters in the battleground states.

    Texas contributed more to this campaign than just their Electoral College votes. And so when I heard the President acknowledge Texas, I took it as thanks for the extra effort.

  14. Kevin Says:

    Hey Simon Bolivar! How’s it going? Sean Hannity says calm down…only I get to be that crazy when it comes to politics. Rush says try some prescriptions
    …they’re damn good.

    Look I feel sorry for you. You aren’t American at all. America is Hollywood. Why? Because it’s full of people exercising their first amendment right. A right all Americans freely express day to day. And you can’t handle it!

    NEWS FLASH: 4 MORE YEARS only means more people exposing and making cracks at Bush, more people criticizing America, and more people suffering under the fear tactics imposed

    (By the way, not to make any jumps here but… since Republicans jumped in with Hillary in ’08, I say Schwarzenegger in ’08. Ya, you got it. Redeem government and bring back true Republican values. I can’t wait.)

    {I know he can’t legally run. But I have paid attention and know that Arnold gets what he wants.)

  15. jay Says:

    Simon,

    You are exactly right. Starve these bastards in their places of work, in their charities, and in any way that can drive them to their knees economically. I normally am not into score settling but it is justified this time out. I hope Bush peels off a few Democrats, proceeds to be aggressive, and finishes off this bunch of shit.

    The “new tone” this time out needs to be frequent and painful knees to the nuts.

  16. Adam Says:

    You changed NPR after Bush was finished…so did I.

  17. Kevin Says:

    Anybody know what a moderate Republican conservative is?

  18. newton Says:

    Nancy Pelosi reacting like a rabid cat…

    Yeah, she reminds me of this one rabid cat that was terrorizing the neighborhood. He marked his territory on just about every outside wall of our house, peed on the face of one of my cats, got my poor, vulnerable female kitty pregnant, hissed and growled at my husband, terrorized our neighbor’s 3-year-old granddaughter, etc.

    Then, during the summer, my husband got a trap from Animal Control and put a plate with tuna. Left it out by the street overnight.

    Needless to say, after a lot of cage rattling and rabid hissing and growling, that cat was gone the next day.

    But keep this in mind… Nancy Pelosi is of good use to us alive!

  19. Jedidah Says:

    UML Guy —
    I’m one of those Texans who traveled to a battleground state (not yours) to work in the Bush campaign. We did, as he noted, know him first, and it was our pleasure to help wherever we were needed. I, too, took his comments as thanks for the extra effort. He knows how much we appreciate him.

Comments are closed.


