Steve Spurrier is a Cock

No, really, he is a Cock.

(Sorry, but it’s really fun to say that in public.)

23 Responses to “Steve Spurrier is a Cock”

  1. Rob Says:

    Most Clemson alums, myself included, thought Holtz was a poor choice for USuC’s program. His 1-5 record against Clemson and overall losing mark in Columbia seems to support that sentiment, but Spurrier… I’m not going to make too many jokes about him. He has to go through Georgia, Florida, and Tennessee to win the SEC East, but if anybody can do it…

  2. Harry in Atlanta Says:

    I know that Spurrier was smart to turn down the Florida offer. If he had excepted and then lost to both Tennessee and Georgia for a couple of years running, who have strong returning programs, then his glorius legacy, not to mention his ass, would have been on the line at Florida. It usually takes more than a couple of seasons to build a bonecrushing program and team, however, the Gator faithful ain’t that patient and a winning season is not going to get it done for them, they’ll always hear the sirens’ song.

    The folks at South Carolina are a lot more forgiving of a slow start and Spurrier can build a dynasty there to eventually rival what he created at Florida but with a lot less stress and great deal more flexibility.

  3. Parke Davis Says:

    We are excited in Columbia, SC.
    Go Gamecocks!!!!!!!!!

  4. The Jawa Report Says:

    Phallic Conspiracy: USC vs. USC

    Quinton and I have been going back and forth in e-mail for months over who the real USC is. As a Trojan alumni I resent any use of the term USC applied to the Gamecocks! Jeff now informs me that…

  5. The Jawa Report Says:

    Phallic Conspiracy: USC vs. USC

    Quinton and I have been going back and forth in e-mail for months over who the real USC is. As a Trojan alumni I resent any use of the term USC applied to the Gamecocks! Jeff now informs me that…

  6. Jeff the Baptist Says:

    Spurrier Joins South Carolina

    After two disappointing seasons with the Redskins, Steve Spurrier is now a University of South Carolina Gamecock. Let the cock jokes commense!

  7. Publicola Says:

    When I was playing music on the chitlin circuit every now & then I’d find myself gigging at a pre or post USC game party. It never failed to astonish me to see all those genteel southern belles (young, old & indeterminate) chanting “Go Cocks!”

    It’s something you have to see & hear for yourself to believe it.

  8. Chuck Pelto Says:

    TO: Will Collier
    RE: Yeah. I Think So Too

    “No, really, he is a Cock.

    (Sorry, but it’s really fun to say that in public.)” — Will Collier

    Some time ago, I had a really nice kite. Black fabric with a white cockatiel on it. It was rather heavy, so when we went out for champagne and kite flying on a fine Spring day, around Denver, I’d tell people…

    “It takes a good blow to get my cock up.”

    Enjoy,

    Chuck(le)

  9. Chris Says:

    Speaking as a Georgia fan living in good ol Athens, I’m glad Spurrier is back. What a great nemesis! He kicked our ass for so long, and when he left, I was sad that we wouldn’t have the chance to redeem ourselves. Now we do! Can’t wait.

  10. Mel Says:

    Imagine if you played for U Delaware over 20 years ago when they were not Blue Hens but
    “Fighting Blue Cocks”!

  11. jsmith Says:

    As a diehard Redskins fan, yeah, Spurrier is a cock.

    And, to Parke, I know how you feel. It turned out horribly.

    But Augusta will turn out well for him.

  12. Amelia Says:

    As a Georgia fan, I don’t like the thought of the evil genius being in my back yard again. BUT if any team deserves to have a string of wins South Carolina does. I think they are the most loyal fans in the SEC and that is saying something.

  13. Uncle Mikey Says:

    When I lived in Columbia, there were some outrageous souls who put “You can’t lick our cocks” bumper stickers on their cars, but not many. It was the ’80s after all.

  14. Dragon Fly Says:

    To: Chris
    RE: “The chance to redeem ourselves”

    You may have the chance. But it is not likely to occur.

    Gator Class of ’94

  15. DC Carter Says:

    Stephen, and the Vodka Pundit readers,

    I apologize in advance for this message being completely off topic. I was catching up on your blog entrees today, after your absence, when I came across

  16. KOTM Says:

    Spurrier sucks! I hope SC goes 0-11!

  17. Parke Davis Says:

    KOTM,
    We at the University of South Carolina appreciate your support.

  18. Ricky Says:

    Imagine if you played for U Delaware over 20 years ago when they were not Blue Hens but
    “Fighting Blue Cocks”!

    Back when I was a Frosh (1986 seems like years ago!) We had the nice fightin’ blue hens… front No one can lick our cocks!… back!

  19. Barry N. Johnson Says:

    Go Cocks!!

    I know I shouldn’t do it. I get my hopes up every year. I know….

  20. Slartibartfast Says:

    I attended a Florida/South Carolina game at SC a couple of years ago, and guess what? The women’s teams are the Lady Gamecocks.

    Go Lady Cocks!

  21. Jeremy Says:

    First Lou…now Steve? Oh this is going to be too much fun.

    63-17, 29-7 and 7 victories out of the last 8 meetings.

    Series record overall: 62-36-4 in favor of Clemson. It’s not a rivalry…It’s ownership.

    Go Tigers!

  22. Cock Flavoured Soup Says:

    Come and get it!

    Spurrier’s favorite appetizer!

  23. Kimberly Says:

    Ah, this brings back the memories. I’m a Columbia native, USC grad (class of 1990) and lifelong Gamecock fan.

    In college, I had one of the bumper stickers from 1984, when the Cocks won their first 10 games. The bumper sticker was a ruler – marked off to 10 inches – with “Our Cocks Grow With Every Win” printed proudly upon it.

    I was in the Color Guard my first two years, and thus spent every football Saturday in red-and-black uniform screaming “Go Cocks!” at the top of my lungs. It’s part of the fight song, people.

    Our main rivals were the Clempson Tigers, and you can guess the boasts – “Our Cocks can beat your pu**ies anytime!”

    The cheerleaders’ uniforms in the 1970’s had “Go Cocks” printed on the back of the panties. I know, because my stepsister was a cheerleader for them, and my stepfather had a close-up photo of her school-spirited ass on his desk. Yeah, try THAT nowadays.

    And it all still doesn’t sound strange to me, because I grew up in it.

Comments are closed.


