New Year’s Time Waster

Saw this questionaire, written up by Terry Teachout, over at Pejmanesque. I don’t normally go in for these, but what the hell–2004 was a very, very good year for me:

1. What did you do in 2004 that you’d never done before? That’s easy: I got married.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I gave up New Year’s resolutions for Lent last year, and just kept on keepin’ on. Considering I’m not Catholic, I think I should get extra credit.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Yes. Most of my friends are exceptionally committed to reversing the western world’s low birthrate. Plus, my sister is due in a couple of weeks.

4. Did anyone close to you die? No, thank God.

5. What countries did you visit? Greece, Germany, and the Paris airport (the less said about the last, the better).

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004? A college football playoff, and the banning of the Associated Press poll, the coaches’ poll, and Sagarin rankings by constitutional ammendment.

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory? March 13.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? See #1.

9. What was your biggest failure? Not getting off my arse and doing the redesign of my site.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Colds, and a stress-related flareup of tendonitis in my shoulder (solved by finally making it to the wedding).

11. What was the best thing you bought? An XM Radio setup for my wife.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? Tommy Tuberville and the Auburn Tigers.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? The collected voters of the Associated Press football poll, the MSM in general, and the moonbats. Crazy was going cheap in ’04.

14. Where did most of your money go? Entertainment and travel (not counting mortgages here).

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Meeting Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson in August. Just a grip-n-grin, but still…

16. What song/album will always remind you of 2004? Rush’s “Feedback” EP.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

• Happier or sadder? Immensely happier.

• Thinner or fatter? About the same.

• Richer or poorer? About the same.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of? Writing.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of? Raking leaves (time to start on this year’s).

20. How will you be spending Christmas? Mostly on an airliner (we went to Germany to visit family Christmas night).

21. Who did you spend the most time on the phone with? Family.

22. Did you fall in love in 2004? See above answers.

23. How many one-night stands in this last year? Zip. See #1.

24. What was your favorite TV program? Late entry: the new “Battlestar Galactica,” which, contrary to all expectations, emphatically does not suck.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? Not really. I’d say hate levels have stayed fairly constant.

26. What was the best book(s) you read? Hmm. “Don’t Stop The Carnival,” by Herman Wouk, I think.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery? A bootleg 1988 concert recording by the Georgia Satellites. Not a great year for new music.

28. What did you want and get? An undefeated season for my Tigers.

29. What did you want and not get? A dual-G5 PowerMac tower and/or giant flat panel HDTV. Still too damn expensive.

30. What were your favorite films of this year? I honestly didn’t see a single movie that blew me away. I probably enjoyed “Dodgeball” more than any other, and that’s a sad, sad statement. Still haven’t seen “The Incredibles,” though.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? Went out with my wife (it was a Monday; poor time for a party). I was/am 36.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? A Heisman Trophy for Jason Campbell.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004? Casual.

34. What kept you sane? Family, music, football, books. Sleep.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? Hey, I’m a newlywed. I’m not about to answer that one.

36. What political issue stirred you the most? Flipping through the VodkaPundit archives, it looks like MSM madness. Kind of surprises me.

37. Who did you miss? Jim Fyffe. Oh, how he would have loved this year.

38. Who was the best new person you met? This is going to sound like sucking up, but Steve Green, who in a spate of insanity gave me squatting rights at VodkaPundit.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004. The waiting is the hardest part (just edged out by the answer in #40).

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. “It’s been a long December, and there’s reason to believe / Maybe this year will be better than the last.” (For most appropriate results, apply in early January of 2004.)

14 Responses to “New Year’s Time Waster”

  1. Eric Says:

    One thing sticks out among all your accomplishments: meeting Geddy and Alex. As a 20 year Rush fan, I still hope to meet them sometime. Oh, congrats on the wedding thing too!

  2. JohnL Says:

    That struck me too! The one thing I did in 2004 that I had never done before was take my boys (aged 9 and 7 at the time) to a rock concert. We saw Rush.

    And as a Texas grad and fan, I was glad for the dysfuntional BCS giving us the chance to see a historic first-ever matchup between two premiere state school football programs. Even better that Texas beat Michigan as time ran out.

  3. triticale Says:

    I had a workaday year, so most of my answers were rather dull, but I think that as a newlywed you will find my answers to numbers 22 and 23 encouraging.

  4. James Says:

    It was a rough year for new music, admittedly, but I can’t waste the opportunity to recommend a couple worthwhile listens:

    Marc Broussard (album “Carencro”)

    Jonny Lang (album “Long Time Coming”)

    Martin Sexton (albums “Black Sheep” and “Live Wide Open”)

    All three are tremendous artists, soulful, bluesy, and with outstanding songwriting.

    Incidentally, I was thorougly excited that Auburn had such a great year. I can’t stand USC or the BCS, so may your wishes come true in 2005, for everyone’s sake…

  5. J1 Says:

    A bad year for music?!?!

    Are you guys/gals boring, or just old?

    Franz Ferdinand, The Killers, Interpol, BRMC, French Kicks, A new Cure album that doesn’t suck, 2004 was a GREAT year for music. I actually didn’t mind listening to the radio this year, and I NEVER listen to the radio.

    J1 (who is 34, and can’t stand Rush)

  6. Mike M Says:

    And I think the two best movies of this year were two of the most misunderstood and underrated: Team America and Sky Captain.

    Meanwhile Fat’n’Hype 9/11 made $100 million. I guess the public gets what it deserves when it comes to the entertainment industry. (see Ashlee Simpson for supporting evidence)

  7. Karl Says:

    Saw Rush on the Moving Pictures tour. Thought there was a fair amount of decent music this year — in addition to some of the stuff listed above, I could add the Sadies, Neko Case, Eleni Mandell, the Flatlanders, Paul Westerberg, Brian Wilson’s SMiLE, and many more. Check sites like Metacritic for more ideas.

    Liked Sky Captain, though I wanted to love it. Laughed ’till I hurt through Team America.

    But get yourself to The Incredibles before it leaves the theaters. Really.

  8. Stephen Green Says:

    Will, I’d blush — if I knew how.

    Seriously, Naught-Four was a pretty damn good year for you. Way to go!

  9. Mean Mr. Mustard 2.0 Says:

    Mmmm… Blog Filler

    Ah, the empty calories of the blogging world: pointless, self-obsessed lists. What am I, made of stone? What did you do in 2004 that you’d never done before? Killed a hobo just to watch him die (all previous hobo-killings a…

  10. Cake Eater Chronicles Says:

    Still No Self-Control

    None at all. My kindergarten teacher, Miss Goddard, would be very disappointed in me as she was always teaching me to strive to control my hyperactive five-year-old self. But at least this meme is from a different source this time…

  11. Rich Says:

    Meeting Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson in August

    Now that’s just mean – details man! We need details!

    I took my ten-year-old to this past summer tour – just to pass on a bit of legacy.

  12. Will Collier Says:

    Rich, it was literally a grip-and-grin. One of my wife’s old roommates was the promotions director for 96 Rock in Atlanta, and got me in to a pre-concert meet-and-greet. Just got to shake hands, exchange a couple of sentences, and a picture.

    It was still pretty damn cool, though. Plus, we had 20th row, center sets for the show, which was probably the best I’ve seen them play in 20 years of Rush concerts.

  13. Johnnie Dontos Says:

    I just came home from three weeks in Honolulu. Having lost most of my eyesight to macular degeneration, I tried my best to use my magnifying glass at an Internet cafe. It just wouldn

  14. Rich Says:

    Will,

    I’m no fawning groupie – but that is just fantastic. I’ve seen every tour since Permanent Waves (some several times) but I’ve never been closer than 20+ yards away.

    I kept hoping to spot Neil while out on the motorcycle during the trip from Red Rocks to SLC. No such luck.

    The SLC show was awesome. Outdoors on a warm August night – last row of the first section on Alex’s side. Close enough to feel the heat from the pyrotechnics 🙂

    Someday I’m going to make that pilgrimage to Toronto…

Comments are closed.


