A Call For Abuse

Over the last couple of weeks, it’s been obvious that one of my email addresses has been harvested by a spammer, and a particularly stupid one at that. I’m getting at minimum five copies of various Nigerian “please help me move millions of dollars” scams a day, as well as a few “you’ve just won a lottery you’ve never heard of” announcements sprinkled in.

I generally delete these wastes of bandwidth as soon as they show up, but the latest is a new low, even for spam-scams. Check it out:

Dear Friend,

I got your email address from the Internet and please do
not feel bad about this message more especially as I am
from Iraq. I am a widow of one of the former senior
managers of the Iraqi State Oil Organisation in charge
of the United Nations Oil-For-Food Programme.
My Husband and three of our four children were killed
in the U.S. led military campaign during this crises
period leaving my little daughter. Before the dead
of my husband, he reveals to me that he deposited a
luggage containing 12 million US dollars as family
valuables with a local security company here in Baghdad.
What I want is that I need you to help me
receive this luggage when it arrive Europe.
The security company has agreed to help transfer
the luggage to Europe and that I need somebody
to receive it for me since I am not free to travel now.
Please note that this doesn’t involve any risk.
All I need from you is honesty and a promise
not to betray me after you receive the luggage.
Please note that I have decided to take this risk
because the new Iraq government is investigating
all the managers that work at the oil for food
program and I stand to lose the entire fund if I
don’t relocate them.
Note that for security reason, I will not disclose
my identity until you respond to this mail. I look
forward to hear from you soon and I will provide
you with more details.
Thank you.

Personally, I think this particular scumbag deserves to get abused. The address is widowhelp22@netscape.net.

Y’all have fun…

20 Responses to “A Call For Abuse”

  1. Rob Says:

    This one seems particularly lame. How, exactly, are they going to rip you off? Why would they need access to your bank account if all they want is for you to pick up some luggage?

    Is it the old Spanish Prisoner game, where they’re going to want something of value to hold so they can be sure you’ll go through your end of the bargan?

    This one seems more clueless than average…

  2. Bill Peschel Says:

    Best I can do is add the address to my spamlist, where it’ll be harvested by spambots and used for spam.

    If I’m particularly pissed by a company, I run a whois on it and add the administrator’s name and any other e-mails to the list.

  3. Alexa Says:

    Spammers have been using my other email addresses in the from field and I keep getting “could not send” emails.

  4. chaika Says:

    We’ll see who’s lame when I go to Europe and pick up that $12 million luggage. I’m gonna be rich!

  5. carla Says:

    The spammer in question probably blocks emails to that address.

    I hope your attempt to kick their butt works…but I have my doubts.

  6. mike Says:

    i really like your blog, the layout is clean and everything is easy to navigate. Bravo! would you be interested in swapping links perhaps?

  7. Full Auto Says:

    Go to 419eater.com to see how much fun can be had with these types of scams.

  8. Joel Says:

    wait a sec… wouldn’t we be contributing to the problem (actually becoming spammers ourselves) by sending this guy a load of emails??? don’t see the logic here!(grin)

    Careful lest we become what we hate.

  9. Jonathan Says:

    Spam Spam Spam Spam Ham Eggs Spam Spam Bacon and Spam !!!

  10. Deacon Blues Says:

    I have answered a couple of these with nonsense letters and counter-offers. I actually got one response from a person who said he didn’t understand my last letter and would I hurry and re-respond. It can be quite fun.

  11. RobertJ Says:

    Let’s see, a widow of a corrupt thug (is there any other kind?) wants your help to keep the millions he stole from the mouths of poor Iraqis. Shouldn’t she be contacting the U.N.?

  12. chaika Says:

    Full Auto, I checked out that 419eater.com site. That kept me amused for several hours last night. Good stuff.

  13. richard mcenroe Says:

    Got a winner in the inbox this morning. A Nigerian letter in French from a Mexican ISP… who says multiculturalism isn’t working?

  14. Rob Says:

    Deacon, I do the same thing. I always reply with “Sounds great, where do I send my account info?” and they never reply. Maybe I’ll have to find another way to make my millions.

  15. Steven Den Beste Says:

    K9 is your friend. I’ve been using it for more than a year now and it’s fantastic.

  16. Stephen Says:

    Deacon B,

    If you really want an ab-busting laugh, check out the Nigerian scammer-abuse running at hogonice.com

    Steve actually got one to email back a “credibility pic.” The pic had the Nigerian holding a sign board sporting the name of Steve’s erstwhile go-between attorney “Mabel Sirrup.”

  17. TheKid Says:

    Just spent too much time at 419eater.com. It is a must-visit. I haven’t laughed that hard in a LONG time.

  18. byrd Says:

    I think Chaika’s on to something.

    Maybe this is simply the latest promotion from the EU tourism department.

  19. The Herkimer Diaries Says:

    Spam Alert

    Recently my mailbox has been inundated with messages running as Re: Offer Of Employment…Immediate Response Required! promising wonders of working at home for a company called WORLDWIDE MARKETING SERVICES.

  20. bobpotter! Says:

    A while back (2002) I got my first 419 email. I actually was interested in persuing the details (I knew it was a scam but I wanted to know what happens and how the thing works.) Anyways – long story short after contacting a few government agencies I actually got an email address from the secret service where I could forward the email to so they could do analysis and follow up on it.(419.fcd@usss.treas.gov) It was more rare back then so maybe they were able to actually follow up on it, nowadays I imagine there are simply too many to really do anything about.

    Oddly I actually received one of these letters in the mail – snail mail! junior year of college (1997) Wild! See, that really takes some effort. Nothing like working for your money, uh – or something. heh.

    Thanks for the interesting blog, maybe I’ll see you around LoDo sometime.

    Oh and congrats on the little one on the way!

    Best,
    Bob

Comments are closed.


