Katrina Blog Aid: Maybe They’re Not So Shiftless

Bumped to the top to kick off Thursday’s Blog Aid effort:

VodkaPundit’s charity of choice today is Mennonite Disaster Services. I’ve chosen MDS for the following reasons:

1. My father-in-law is from a Mennonite family (really).
2. Gives me an excuse to reference the “shiftless Mennonites” joke from The Simpsons.
3. A website called VodkaPundit teaming up with a Mennonite charity reaches a New Orleanian level of weirdness–and thus is entirely appropriate.

Besides all that, I’m willing to bet (seriously, we’ve already made a donation) that the money is a lot more likely to go directly to helping people, and a lot less likely to get swallowed up in a permanent bureaucracy.

If you don’t choose to give to MDS yourself, we won’t hold it against you–but here’s a link to the Blogfaddah’s gigantic list of blogger-endorsed charities. So pick one. Heck, pick seven or eight.

10 Responses to “Katrina Blog Aid: Maybe They’re Not So Shiftless”

  1. michael Says:

    Given the amount of federal money and insurance money that’s going to flow into that area, I think you are making a donation whether you want to or not…

    Doesn’t anyone else think it’s kind of stupid to rebuild that city where it is now? It will just get hit again eventually. Since 80% of it is underwater, perhaps they could just start with a greenfield site farther north?

  2. Scot Says:

    I was thinkink that trucking in strip=-mine tailings might make sense.

    But, what I wrote to say is that we should call this effort ‘Blog Aid.’

  3. jmaster Says:

    Believe it or not, I come from some hard core Mennonites myself (on one side of my family. Jehova

  4. David Aitken Says:

    You can keep this post on top by changing the date/time on the post if you have that capability.

  5. Tim P Says:

    Thanks for posting that Stephen. I’m usually suspicious of charities with a few notable exceptions.
    But I agree with you & jmaster, the Mennonites won’t waste any doe on beauracracy and the money will go where it’s needed.
    In anycase, I hope folks reading your blog and many of the other blogs that have listed places to donate DO donate. I now know where I’ll send my money.
    Coincidentally, my wife’s people are Mennonites too. What is it with these Mennonite decended women?

  6. erp Says:

    Will. Sorry that below I credited Stephen for the Mennonite information. I did send them a contribution and thank you for the tip. I normally don’t give to any of the major charities knowing as I do that only a small percentage of the donations actually get to the intended target.

  7. Amy Says:

    Will,

    “New Orleanian level of weirdness” is a great way to put it.

    I’d like to echo the comments that MDS knows what it’s doing. I was raised Mennonite in southeast La. and am very thankful that my family’s parish was (mostly) spared. My folks are back home as of yesterday

  8. Scott in CA Says:

    I gave a donation to the Southern Baptist Relief. I read yesterday that they team up with the Red Cross and others to feed the masses of people who are displaced. I just had this vision of hundreds of Southern Baptist women strapping on aprons and heading out to cook chicken for 10,000 people. They really do need the help and they are legit. Instapundit links to them.

  9. Sarah Says:

    I actually hadn’t heard of the MDS until last Friday when I saw pictures of them at the Johnstown Flood Museum in Pennsylvania, while my family and I were on vacation. They were helping clean up after the 1977 flood there. Now I guess they are going to help clean up my beloved city. God bless them.

  10. Julana Says:

    I was raised Mennonite, and help out after the Xenia, Ohio, tornado back in ’74.
    I can also recommend MDS as an organization that operates without fluff, frills, and baggage.

Comments are closed.


