What A Wookiee

Peter Mayhew, much better known as Chewbacca, becomes an American citizen on Monday:

“I am feeling very happy about it,” Mayhew said. “Whatever people say about America, it is still one of the most wonderful countries in the world, despite the politics, religion and everything else that goes on.”

Better yet, Chewie isn’t just becoming an American–he’s also a Texan.

Cool. Or as they say on Kashyyyk, “GRAAAAAAHNK!”

19 Responses to “What A Wookiee”

  1. Brian Tiemann Says:

    “…Despite the politics, religion and everything else” ?

    I dunno, that sounds pretty backhanded to me. It reads more to me as though he’s becoming naturalized so as to make life more convenient for him and his American wife.

  2. Paolo Thompson Says:

    So I am at a toy convention in Houston and not paying much attention to where I am going when I run into someone in the aisle. I look up to apologize and I have to tilt my head farther than I would have originally thought. There is this tall ass, skinny, rough looking man who has a lost look on his face. Oh crap I just ran into Chewbacca! Looked like any of the other convention types, black t-shirt and jeans, though a lot taller. He also appeared confused as if he was thinking to himself, “How in God’s name did I end up here?” Guess I might ask myself the same thing if I were in his shoes.

  3. Julie Says:

    I suppose it could seem a backhanded compliment, if a person wanted to take it that way. On the other hand there’s a bunch of whiners (quite a few of them in hollywood) who seem to think that the politics, religion, and everything else mean the US is way past the crapper and so they threaten to move somewhere else all the time but never do.

    A writer that I know from a newsgroup recently naturalized. She was born in Yugoslavia, spent a good portion of her life in South Africa, lived for at least a while in New Zealand… and now she lives in the Pacific Northwest. Certainly her politics are liberal and she disapproves of a great deal of what we’re doing in the world, and her motivations were professional and practical… she didn’t tell anyone until afterward and then she said she hadn’t expected it, but taking the oath and becoming a citizen of the US affected her profoundly.

    We’re a nation of immegrants, for the most part. Coming here from elsewhere is something we have in common.

  4. byrd Says:

    Granted, “despite the politics, religion and everything else” is not a statement to warm the cockles, but there’s nothing wrong with bitching and moaning AND recognizing that the US “is still one of the most wonderful countries in the world.”

    The problem, as Julie points out, rests with those who can’t recognize our problems without denying our strengths.

  5. Pamela Says:

    It always astounds me how people from elsewhere like to point our problems to us, but then get this glossy look in their eyes when you tell them they could live here too.

    Yes we are well aware of our problems. That is what makes America great, you can criticize the government without getting your butt in jail.

  6. Billy Fish Says:

    “…Despite the politics, religion and everything else” ?

    As opposed to say, Iran?

  7. fasd Says:

    http://www.frankkellyrich.com/

  8. Greg Says:

    Will, I swear if you start dancing around like an Ewok over this news and I will find some way to conspire with Stephen and get someone in your neck of the woods to take pictures to be posted on the net…

  9. Brit Says:

    Promise you’ll keep him…

  10. Josh Says:

    “despite the politics, religion and everything else that goes on”

    Problems not unique to the United States.

  11. Cybrludite Says:

    Met him at Exoticon 2001. Heck of a nice guy, from what I could tell.

  12. mikem Says:

    “politics and religion”

    LMAO. He makes a grumbling reference to the very reason we came here and fought a war with his country: so that we could freely engage in that which he ‘despites’.
    Oh well, we can use more McDonald workers.

  13. triticale Says:

    Should be quite a party next Life Day.

  14. Pat Patterson Says:

    Accepting his Tony Award in 2000, the newly sworn in US citizen, Roy Dotrice said “…I hope you will alllow me to share whatever talent I have with you in the years to come in this country…This wonderful country. God Bless America”.

    Definitely a much more gracious speech than the one given by Peter Mayhew.

  15. Tom Dunson Says:

    I vote “asshole” on Chewie.

  16. denise Says:

    Not to worry. Couple three years in Texas and he’ll be embracing all that “politics, religion and everything else.” He’ll be a gen-u-wine Red-Stater in no time.

    Unless he moves to Austin. Then all bets are off.

  17. vladimir Says:

    I’m with both Josh and Pat on Chewie.

    My gal is originally from Poland. She understands how blessed she is living here.

  18. pst314 Says:

    “despite the politics, religion and everything else that goes on”

    Perhaps, after a few years, he may find that “the politics, religion and everything” are part of what makes America so wonderful.

  19. JamesB_BKK Says:

    I’ve often remarked that, “America is great place to go – except for all the Americans.”

Comments are closed.


