Oh, That Incestuous Media

We don’t subscribe to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, our local paper, but occasionally the delivery guy will drop off a complementary copy. Last Sunday was one of those days; here’s an image of the front page. The image is pretty poor, but if you look in the top left-hand corner, you’ll see a very large, prominent blurb for a story titled “Monica’s Moving.” The extensive article inside (in the business section, no less) is about how Monica Kaufman, arguably Atlanta’s most recognizable local TV news host, has a $4 million house up for sale.

That’s a pretty good advertisement, don’t you think? Priceless, even, considering the AJC doesn’t sell advertising on that particular piece of Sunday front-page acreage. I mean, let’s say you had a house on the market. How much would it be worth to you to have it advertised for free on the front page of the paper?

Of course, you or I wouldn’t get that kind of special treatment. You have to, er, know somebody to get your for-sale listing put up that prominently. And here’s a kicker that somehow made it past the legal and ethical guardians at the AJC–Kaufman and the paper’s editors all work for the same conglomerate, Cox Communications. Nope, no conflicts of interest there!

But hey, I’m sure I’m just being cynical. No doubt everybody involved are all unselfish guardians of the public good–and of what we ought to know about. And clearly, we didn’t need to know that Kaufman works for the AJC’s owners, since that little fact isn’t mentioned in the article.

Ah, what’s to get upset about? Since when do “journalists” have to live by the same rules as the little people?

8 Responses to “Oh, That Incestuous Media”

  1. rbj Says:

    I’ll have to read the article. I’ve been meaning to get rid of my $4 million weekend getaway. It’s far too small and not near any decent deli. Now if I could only remember which state it’s in.
    /sarcasm

  2. Chuck Pelto Says:

    TO: Will Collier
    RE: Well….

    “Since when do “journalists” have to live by the same rules as the little people?” — Will Collier

    …as new adage goes….

    It’s not who you know. It’s who you blow.

    Regards,

    Chuck(le)
    P.S. I wouldn’t recognize a television personality from the people who live four blocks away. I DON’T WATCH TELEVISION. It’s a waste of my valuable time, having someone giving me only partial information.

    [What they are telling you can be important. What they are NOT telling you can be vital.]

  3. Mike Says:

    I need your help vodkapundit and readers. I went to buy beer and my frickin debit card has expired. I have no cash, but I do have some J&B, Smirnoff and Tequilla (though I would prefer to leave big T out of this, it’s monday after all.)

    I don’t feel like taking a few shots and going to bed, so some good drink recomendations would be appreciated.

  4. richard mcenroe Says:

    Simon Cowell is like four feet tall. I was so disillusioned.

  5. KipEsquire Says:

    It’s complimentary, not complementary.

    “Coffee and orange are complementary; free coffee and orange juice are complimentary.”

  6. Gary B Says:

    I doubt that few of the papers readers can afford such a house. It sounds like a terribly inefficient way to market a $4,000,000 house with internet listings only a few clicks away. The only thing this ad might do is up the number of lookie loos driving past.

  7. Queer Conservative Says:

    I never read the AJC anymore. Ever. So I missed that. Let’s just say I’m not a bit surprised.

  8. MikeK Says:

    Is it time for the “liberal” wing of the republican party to let everyone else know that it is our party also. I see the comment by queer conservative and I am going to add the rest of the “groups” (no disrespect QC) to it. I don’t see why fiscal-conservative and hawkish positions have to cross with “conservative” social conservatives. They aren’t going to fuck you, they just want lower taxes, dead dictators and a drink on a sunny day. (and nice rugs)-I had to make some sort of gay joke about homo’s, sorry buddy.

Comments are closed.


