Oh, Great

You know what the worst thing about this is? No, it’s got nothing to do with either news or politics. CBS has long since stopped being a credible source of news, and nobody with an IQ above room temperature in an igloo really gives a rip what some morning show fluff-spout thinks about politics. Personally, I could give a rip about who’s on the Today Show and/or CBS Evening News–I haven’t watched either one in well over a decade.

No, the worst thing is that promo-happy CBS will be plastering Couric’s mug all over the screen during SEC football games this season. Can’t Broadcast Sports already inserts inane programming plugs almost literally between every play, and I won’t be surprised if they digitally superimpose The Perky Anchor’s face on the middle of the field, too.

Whoo-pee.

17 Responses to “Oh, Great”

  1. frank martin Says:

    This is just a desperate attempt to rehabilitate Dan Rather and make him look like a serious newsman. Apparently Emo Phillips wasnt able to close the deal, so Katies agent stepped in and the rest is history.

    I betcha 100 bucks there is no CBS news a year after she starts in the gig.

    ( jeez, they just read the news for gods sake…)

  2. JoeBlow Says:

    It shows that news is secondary. I’m sick of the stupid blah-blah-blah that we all have to watch and read and hear. But we did it with the countdown to when the Pope would die and we did with the clock about how long the miners had been underground in W. VA and none of this had to do with news. Theater? Yes.

  3. Julie (Synova) Says:

    Do news anchors actually do anything other than read the news and appear sincere?

    Just asking.

  4. Will Collier Says:

    Don Henley is full of crap 99% of the time but credit where it’s due, he did nail the anchor species: “I could have been an actor, but I wound up here; I just have to look good, I don’t have to be clear.”

  5. FORGER Says:

    Wasn’t another of Henley’s rare pearls of wisdom, “I’d like to find your inner-child and kick it’s little ass…”??

  6. Clay from GeneralQuarters.com Says:

    Easy Solution:

    Follow the Big XII!

  7. richard mcenroe Says:

    Froger

  8. Billy Hollis Says:

    In the “favorite Henley lyrics” category, I nominate:

    On the road today I saw a Dead Head sticker on a Cadillac.
    A little voice inside my head said “don’t look back, you can never look back…”

    And concerning Emo Phillips not being available, I think they really wanted a woman, but unfortunately couldn’t nail down Giuliana Sgrena.

    Finally, on the subject of what news anchors really do besides read the news – they have a lot of influence in choosing what stories the newscast goes with. That is where they are best able to display their bias.

  9. Kilgore Says:

    The way I see this:
    CBS is trying to the best of their ability to validate themselves as a relevant source for news and opinion, by making the arrival of a new anchor, especially a female, a big deal. Apparently, someone forgot to CBS them that the drive-by media’s days of monopolizing the news are over. No one cares if a white man, black man, white woman, purple woman, green man, or a blue woman reads the CBS telprompter, because it’s all democratic party talking points anyway.

  10. Sandy P Says:

    Anyone ever hear Emo’s bit about eating an Easter bunny?

  11. richard mcenroe Says:

    kilgore

  12. Gary Bezowsky Says:

    Maybe Katie can have a wardrobe malfunciton to get the CBS News ratings up.

  13. brett Says:

    You’re right about the SEC coverage. I’ve seen rhesus monkeys who could produce better–and miss fewer plays.

    I stopped watching Katie/Today Show in 2000 when she gave Marlo Thomas a full segment to rant about then-candidate Bush.

    I’m not a huge Ann Coulter fan, but I wouldn’t mind seeing her give Perky another intellectual smackdown.

  14. rbj Says:

    What if they plaster Katie Couric’s face on the football. Right at kickoff time.
    BTW, why do they still have the evening news. Does anyone watch it anymore?

  15. ed Says:

    I guess NBC was just to conservative for her tastes so she made the move to CBS.

  16. Jim Says:

    I want to make sure I use the term “morning show fluff-spout” every day for the rest of my life!

    Cheers

  17. Omnibus Driver Says:

    The best thing about this is that I get to see Ann, Matt and Al again. I’ve been boycotting the Today Show for years because of the witch!

Comments are closed.


