P.J. O’Rourke: Father of the Blogosphere

There are occasions when I think to myself, “Self, the real father of the Blogosphere, in all it’s snarkful glory, is not Glenn or Lileks or even Bill Quick: the spiritual father of Conservo-Liberterian Blogland is really P.J. O’Rourke.”

And then I read something like this, and I know in my heart that I am right:

Naturally we cannot expect a man with credentials such as Arthur’s to be merely a jerk; he’s an idiot, too. The quickest riffle through Journals is enough to prove it. Said Arthur, after a 10-day visit to the USSR in 1982: “I fear that those who think the Soviet Union is on the verge of economic and social collapse are kidding themselves.” It just so happens that I was in the USSR myself for about 10 days in 1982. I was an ignorant, neophyte foreign correspondent on my first overseas assignment. But I did notice that the Soviet Union was on the verge of economic and social collapse.

I mean, really: Read The Whole Thing.

7 Responses to “P.J. O’Rourke: Father of the Blogosphere”

  1. Tim P Says:

    PJ, the “Republican Party Reptile”
    is on target once again. Always one of my favorites, and quotes like this remind me why…

    Yet Journals is so much more than gush. Its pages also crack open a hellgate to give us a peek at the eternally consuming fires of egotistic solipsism to which the soul of a liberal is forever condemned. Not even the undying love that Arthur Schlesinger felt for Kennedy money, power, and prestige could redeem poor Art from the perdition that awaits the bien pensant. His is the sin of pride, such that produces the New Deal, the Fair Deal, the New Frontier, the Great Society.

  2. wyocwby Says:

    PJ is the MAN! For years I

  3. joated Says:

    WOW! Just, WOW!

    What a review by O’Rourke. What use of the English language.

    WOW!

  4. kestrel Says:

    Good catch – and good call.

  5. Hillary Delenda Est Says:

    AN HERO!!1111!!!111

    EPIC WIN FOR REPUBLICAN PARTY REPTIEL!!!!!111ELEVEN

  6. Tim P Says:

    Schlesinger’s newly discovered posthumous journals! It appears that Arthur kept writing even after he died. Finally someone from the ‘other side’ speaks. Excerpts…

    It was a long trip down to hell. I estimate that it must have taken almost two days. The service in our box car was just dreadful. And the sanitation, ugh! I had to spend an interminable amount of time chatting about drivel with Anna Nicole Smith, and Molly Ivans, if you can imagine.

    As I mingled I did manage to have a half way decent discussion with Thomas Eagleton and Sidney Shheldon regarding tha state of modern literature. Unfortunately, it was broken up abruptly when a fight broke out between Kurt Vonnegut and Norman Mailer. Mailer always has been such a beast.

    Upon finally arriving at the lake (of fire) our box car doors were opened by none other than David Halberstam and Jerry Falwell. After shuffling outside to stand in line, one can’t imagine the stiffness of standing in a box car for two days until one does it, we finally made Satan’s acquaintance! My but he does look a lot like a cross between Mick Jagger and that Clinton fellow. It was at that time that…

  7. Tim P Says:

    Sorry about that, corrected entry below…

    Schlesinger’s newly discovered posthumous journals! It appears that Arthur kept writing even after he died. Finally someone from the ‘other side’ speaks. Excerpts…

    It was a long trip down to hell. I estimate that it must have taken almost two days. The service in our box car was just dreadful. And the sanitation, ugh! I had to spend an interminable amount of time chatting about drivel with Anna Nicole Smith, and Molly Ivans, if you can imagine.

    As I mingled I did manage to have a half way decent discussion with Thomas Eagleton and Sidney Sheldon regarding the state of modern literature. Unfortunately, it was broken up abruptly when a fight broke out between Kurt Vonnegut and Norman Mailer. Mailer always has been such a beast.

    Upon finally arriving at the lake (of fire) our box car doors were opened by none other than David Halberstam and Jerry Falwell. After shuffling outside to stand in line, one can’t imagine the stiffness of standing in a box car for two days until one does it, we finally made Satan’s acquaintance! My but he does look a lot like a cross between Mick Jagger and that Clinton fellow. It was at that time that I realized what a surprisingly large percentage of democrats dwelled here…

Comments are closed.


