Just When I Think It’s Safe To Stop Holding My Nose…

…. McCain goes and says something really, really stupid:

John McCain said in an interview with CNBC Tuesday that the U.S. needs to strengthen its oversight of markets while remaining aware of the “risk of overregulation.” The Republican senator said regulators also need to “do a better job in reining in short sellers.”

Unbelievably dumb. Nancy Pelosi dumb. Herbert Hoover dumb.

Amity Shlaes, call your office.

2 Responses to “Just When I Think It’s Safe To Stop Holding My Nose…”

  1. Casey Says:

    What, you think Obama is less regulation-prone than McCain?

    I repeat: both candidates suck, but McCain sucks less.

    Not to mention I think you’re being unfair to Hoover. 🙂

  2. dougdever Says:

    Don’t worry, he will continue this trend of stupid comments:

    “I’ll meet this financial crisis head on,” he says in one ad. “Reform Wall Street. New rules for fairness and honesty. I won’t tolerate a system that puts you and your family at risk. Your savings, your jobs—I’ll keep them safe.”

    I don’t want rules on Wall Street for “fainess and honesty” whatever the hell that means. I don’t want a presidential candidate worrying about how I manage my savings. I want to see a candidate who makes it clear to businesses that made bad choices moral hazards still exist and they will be dealt with in the marketplace, that toxic junk is just that, and that taxpayers won’t keep picking up the tab and waking up every morning to find out we own more banks and insurance companies – Jim Cramer’s opinion be damned. And while we’re at it, we’re not going to bailout the auto indsutry (or whatever creative newspeak term gets rolled out to replace “bailout”), the airline industry, or anyone else while senior executives continue to be rewarded with golden parachutes for running their businesses in to the ground. Let someone else buy those assets in the ensuing fire sale and run them right.

    Unfortunately, when John McCain asserted today that AIG was too big to fail, the message he sent was – if you’re going to fail, make sure you’re really, really, REALLY big and we’ll open the federal coffers.

    These choices both suck. McCain just sucks a little bit less.

Leave a Reply

